Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

geekyPanda
Frequent Visitor

Multiple api calls in Power BI

I'm building custom data connector for Power BI and I'm pretty new in this, so I have to build data connector with multiple api calls based on list of symbols which are entered in api call.

For example:

I wrote this logic below, and I didn't get any error when I ran it, but I got empty table, I'm not sure what is wrong here, any help would be appreciated.

This api call "https://myDataAPI.com/getData.json?apikey=myApiKey&symbol=GOOG,AAPL&startYear=2021&endYear=2023" should return data for GOOG and AAPL symbol in the same table.

shared getMydata.getMyData = (apiKey as text, symbols as text, startYear as  text, endYear as text) =>
	let 
		symbolList = Text.Split(symbols , ","),
		position = 0,

getJson = (position) => 
			let 
				source = Json.Document(Web.Contents("https://myDataAPI.com/getData.json?apikey="&apiKey &"&symbol="&symbolList{position}& "&startYear="&startYear &"&endYear="&endYear)),
				apiData = try source[results] otherwise null

in
				apiData,

AllJson = List.Generate(
			() => [i = 1, data = getJson(position)],
			each [i] <= List.Count(symbolList),
			each [i = [i]+1, data = getJson([i])]
		),

toTable = Table.FromList(AllJson, Splitter.SplitByNothing(), null, null, ExtraValues.Error),
		extand = Table.ExpandRecordColumn(toTable, "Column1", {"symbol", "startYear", "endYear" })
	in 
		extand;

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
ams1
Super User
Super User

Hi @geekyPanda 

When you say you've got an "empty table", you mean it HAS rows, but all cells are null (like below)?

ams1_0-1678449832344.png