Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

iWonder
Helper I
Helper I

Merge Queries with an IF

Thank you for taking the time to read my question.

I am brand new to Power Query... let's start there...

I have Merged 2 queries in Power Query and have added a Parameter.

One query is a list of users and what customers they have access to, the second query is a list of all the month end data for each customer for each month. The queries are joined on customer name. This way if I filter the user table, the summary table is filtered.

Person A can only see Customer A

Person B can only see Customer B

Person C can see ALL records

If I merge the queries, it works if I enter person A's email address into the parameter because they have actual customer names, but if I put in Person C's email address nothing is returned because they have "ALL" instead of a Customer Name

User           Company

Person A    Customer A

Person B    Customer B

Person C    ALL

= Table.NestedJoin(FlockSummary, {"Title"}, Users, {"CustomerAccess"}, "Users", JoinKind.Inner)

iWonder_0-1627416643885.png

How do I say to the merge, if the User Company = "ALL" then show everything, else show where they are equal?

Once I have this, I'll figure out how to pass an email address to the parameter from Excel

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
wdx223_Daniel
Super User
Super User

Table.SelectRows(FlockSummary,each if Users[CustomerAccess]{0}="ALL" then true else [Title]= Users[CustomerAccess]{0})

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
wdx223_Daniel
Super User
Super User

Table.SelectRows(FlockSummary,each if Users[CustomerAccess]{0}="ALL" then true else [Title]= Users[CustomerAccess]{0})

Hi @wdx223_Daniel 

Thank you so much for your reply and for the formula.