Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Ronny75

Looping Power query

Hi

I'm fairly new to power query and I don't understand exactly how I'm suppose to solve this.

So i have a query to takes out data for each month from Azure Billing API Rest web service and creating a table that I then use in excel later on.

The Query works just fine but it's "static" meening that I have to add the query manually for each month  and i can't do the whole year since then it fails.

So i would like to find a way to do a loop on month level and in that loop i need to get a value that I can then use in my query so i can get a dataset that i can "add" to my table.

That way it would be possible for me to use that power query table the whole year without haveing to update it each month.

Is this possible?

This is the structure of my query currently:

let
Data1 =
let
Source = Json.Document(Web.Contents("https://management.azure.com/providers/Microsoft.Billing/billingAccounts/.../invoices?api-version=20...periodEndDate=2021-02-01&periodStartDate=2022-01-01")),
<doing some more stuff>
in
#"MyDatatable",
Data2 =
let
Source = Json.Document(Web.Contents("https://management.azure.com/providers/Microsoft.Billing/billingAccounts/.../invoices?api-version=20...periodEndDate=2021-03-01&periodStartDate=2022-02-01")),
<doing some more stuff>
in
#"MyDatatable",
Data3 =

DataTable = Table.Combine({Data2,Data3,Data4,Data5,Data6,Data7,Data8,Data9})

in
DataTable

My aim is to just have ONE query that I can use in a loop "for each month  from year start to current month", and in that loop the periodEndDate and periodStartDate values change depending on where in the loop I am and then adding that data to a the "DataTable".

That way i don't need to add the a query when we get to a new month...