Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

vyask
Frequent Visitor

Loop / recursive / DAX / PowerQuery / Same Table loop

Hi, I am new to Power BI and I need help with creating a loop using DAX or Power Query.

Problem Statement:
I have only 1 table (which shows unidirectional links between workitems) with 4 columns.

SourceWorkItemIdParentWorkItemIdSourceWorkItemTypeParentWorkItemTypeCapID (OUTPUT)
1122Story1Feature166
2233Feature1Epic166
4455Theme1MBI10
3344Epic1Theme10
5566MBI1Cap10
111222Story2Cap1222
11112222Story3Cap22222
166Story4Cap166
772222Epic2Cap20

The WorkItemType hierarchy is not fixed. It can be Story -> Feature -> Cap or it can be Story -> Cap or anything else.

The maximum depth (in this order) is: Story -> Feature -> Epic -> Theme -> MBI -> Cap.

I need to show CapID against Stories and Features that are directly or indirectly linked to that Cap by adding 1 new column in the existing table.

I tried to do this using a python script which works fine in python but it times-out in Power BI and gives 1800000ms error, probably because of the table size.

Code Example with comments:

Cap = []                                                   // created a blank list
for indices,row in df.iterrows():                          // started a for loop    
     if row['SourceWorkItemType'] in ['Story','Feature']:  // if SourceType is Story/Feature
          if row['ParentWorkItemType'] == 'Cap':           // if current ParentType is Cap               
               Cap.append(row['ParentWorkItemId'])          // append current CapID to list Cap
          else:                                            // if ParentType is not Cap               
               for indices,row_1 in df.iterrows():         // nested for loop