Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The ultimate Microsoft Fabric, Power BI, Azure AI & SQL learning event! Join us in Las Vegas from March 26-28, 2024. Use code MSCUST for a $100 discount. Register Now

Anonymous
Not applicable

Linking TimeStamp to Value between Dates in Seperate Table

Hello,

I'm new to Power Query and DAX, trying to recreate some reports in it to improve efficiency in their generation.  Having some trouble mimicking a few calculations performed in Excel otherwise.

One such calculation I'm struggling to recreate is an INDEX MATCH Array type value, which compares the TIMESTAMP of when agent's perform an action (working a ticket/ Closing a ticket) and the role they were in when that action took place (accounting for job role changes over the years).

I have Timestamp based data in various tables, showing when agents worked tickets, closed tickets, etc.  In another separate table I have EmployeeHistory info, which lists out their roles, teams, start date, and end date information.

Below is an example of the dataset

Table: MASTER3_TIMETRACKING

MrID, mrTIMEDATE, mrTIMEUSER

1234, 05/05/2019, E0001

1244, 05/06/2019, E0023

Table: tblEmployeeHistory

EmployeeID, Role, Team, Start Date, End Date

E0001, Tier 1, Help Desk, 01/01/2017, 12/31/2018

E0001, Tier 2, Help Desk, 01/01/2019, 01/01/2099

E0023, Network Engineer, Networking, 01/01/2019, 01/01/2099

I'm trying to get a column added to the end of the time tracking table, for later pivoting, which will show the agent's role and team based on the timestamp of action.

In excel the array formula looks like this:

={IFERROR(INDEX(EmployeeHistory[Role],MATCH(1,(EmployeeHistory[EmployeeName]=[mrTIMEUSER)*([@Date]>=EmployeeHistory[Start Date])*([@Date]<=EmployeeHistory[End Date]),0)),"Invalid")}

I need to recreate this concept in DAX referencing the tables and columns themselves.

Is there a way to accomplish this?

Sincerely,

Kristopher