Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

BPyL

Less records than in SQL view

Hi everybody.

I'm new in PowerBI but a SQL advanced user.

I have created a SQL View that shows 5 records. When I import this view link into PowerBI, it shows me only 2 records. 

These are the PoweBI resulting records:

PowerBI sólo muestra 2 registros de los 5.jpg

And these are the View result (View_Logistica_01), 5 records.

Origen de datos SQL.jpg

Does anybody can help me?

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
BPyL

It is solved.

Searching the sql queries that uses these sql views, I noticed the problem has appeared just on friday.

Why? The only answer possible was in the queries that are getting different data only on friday.

One of they is checking if the next day from GETDATE() is saturday, if so, it gets data from next monday. I use the DATENAME function, here is a query portion:

(CASE WHEN DATENAME(WEEKDAY, DATEADD(DAY, 1, GETDATE())) = 'Saturday' 
THEN 2 ELSE 0 END)

Well, when I run this query on friday in my sql server, it returns 'Saturday' but when PowerBI runs it, it returns the spanish name 'Sábado'. So, the records on next monday are not showed in PowerBI because the CASE statement is not true.

Finally I have changed the query above to this other:

(CASE WHEN DATENAME(WEEKDAY, DATEADD(DAY, 1, GETDATE())) IN ('Saturday', 'Sábado')
THEN 2 ELSE 0 END)

And it works.

Have a nice day.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
BPyL

It is solved.

Searching the sql queries that uses these sql views, I noticed the problem has appeared just on friday.

Why? The only answer possible was in the queries that are getting different data only on friday.