Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Clout
Helper III
Helper III

Keep the transformation of data for another data sets

Hello Im new to Power BI and general new in databases. I absolved just an Udemy course this week and Im now deepening my practice.

However, I have to make for my company a dashboard (Bachelor Thesis) for a specific plant which is located in another area. The existing data consists of only one table in Access. So I have to do big transformations: removing columns which are not needed, rename columns, splitting the columns in another tables, create support tables and connect them. Also I have to do calculations respectively specific measures for the key performance indicators. And of the top of it visualise it.

The next requierement is the transferability of my work (transformation, modelling, visualisation, measures etc.) to another data set with the same columns/structure from another area (names are mostly identical but here and there are extra columns which I dont need). So I want to simply put my data in and the working steps I did with the former data, will be transfered to the new data. It would be also nice that Im able to chose prior which columns I will keep and the rest should be deleted. The first ten rows are only consist of the date and the remaining rows of the another columns are empty. The data of the free space is individual to each plant, so it would be a nice to have to detect the empty rows of my relevant data and clear every row till the first data aviable.