Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Jibble 2 API access with Bearer token

Hello,

I am trying to build an API request to Jibble 2, a time-tracking software our company uses. I am new to API requests and Power M Query, so I come up against a few errors that seem obvious to many people. After writing this I see it's quite long so here's the structure:

1. The problem and my understanding of it

2. My first attempt to solve it

3. My second attempt to solve it

4. Some general notes at the end 

The problem and my understanding of it

I want to pull this tracked time report (here in the docs) and store it as a table in my PowerBI Desktop Report. I don't quite understand how to use the Bearer token system that they have in place (here is the docs on it). 

I tried some of the methods outlined in this community post. 

I have the client ID and client secret from web access to my Jibble 2 service, but I'm stumbling with setting up the web connection, because I don't actually have the bearer key from that. In the community post linked above, some users report successfully connecting by giving HTTP request header parameter Authorization with value Bearer[bearer_key], but I don't have the key - I think I need to get it from the API.

I've tried contacting Jibble support about this, but they say that help with the API isn't part of the support subscription package. 

My current understanding of the problem is this two step process:

1. Write query to https://identity.prod.jibble.io/connect/token and retrieve Bearer token. Store bearer token as variable in the Power Query script I will write. Use my client ID and client secret.