Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

JSON API with Specific Parameters

Hi, 

I am new to power BI - I have basic knowledge with BI platforms and APIs.

Goal:

Retrive data and showcase it to the end user - the user needs to selected the parameters (client name, and date). 

How: 

The data is being pulled by an API - with the parameters specified byt the user, then specific data will be provided. 

I was able to connect a JSON API and uploaded into power BI - the issue is that that API was already preselected and only provides data to a single client I want to have multiple clients and trigger diffrent APIs. 

Is this possible to acconmplish? Basically I want to have a dropdown with the clients use the name of the client and trigget the API. 

Thanks! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ImkeF
Super User
Super User

If my understanding is correct, this should be doable with 2 parameters that hold all clients names and possible dates (or a free-form field for the date)  and a function that calls the API(s) and takes the selected parameter as an input.

So the users can select their bits through the API and then refresh the dataset. (No scheduled refresh through the PBI service then, though. )

See this article for example on how to write a function: https://www.poweredsolutions.co/2019/02/19/parameters-and-functions-in-power-bi-power-query-custom-f...

Imke Feldmann (The BIccountant)

If you liked my solution, please give it a thumbs up. And if I did answer your question, please mark this post as a solution. Thanks!

How to integrate M-code into your solution -- How to get your questions answered quickly -- How to provide sample data -- Check out more PBI- learning resources here -- Performance Tipps for M-queries

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
ImkeF
Super User
Super User