Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Is there a way to create a fiscal year column from an autocalendar colum

PowerBI newbie here with just enough tech savvy to be dangerous.

Why isn't there an easy way to create a quarter or fiscal year column from a date column?  It seems odd that it's so difficult.  To may things even more fun, our fiscal runs April-March.

I created a "Date" table with a Date column using CALENDARAUTO

Feeling very stupid 😞

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Anonymous ,

Cool, easy one to fix:

Each segment marked with // in my code I sent you is a separate column, so your first column would be:

Date.Year([Date]+#duration(275,0,0,0))

call this finYear (so the following columns that reference it are looking for the right name).

Then your next column would be:

[finYear] - Date.Year(Date.From(DateTime.LocalNow())+#duration(275,0,0,0))

And so on, in the order that I wrote them in the code.

I'll tell you what, create a new blank query in Power Query, then with that new query selected, go to the Home tab and select Advanced Editor. Copy all of the following code and paste it over everything in the Advanced Editor window. It's all the financial dimensions for an April-March financial year starting from the beginning of the financial year 20 years ago, until the end of the financial year 2 years from now.

let
  // Define Date.Today
  Date.Today = Date.From(DateTime.LocalNow()),
  Source = { Number.From(#date(Date.Year(Date.AddYears(Date.Today+#duration(275,0,0,0),-20)),4,1))..Number.From(#date(Date.Year(Date.AddYears
(Date.Today+#duration(275,0,0,0),2)),3,31)) },
  convToTable = Table.FromList(Source, Splitter.SplitByNothing(), null, null, ExtraValues.Error),
  chgDateType = Table.TransformColumnTypes(convToTable, {{"Column1", type date}}),