Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MarcoW91
Frequent Visitor

Is it possible to replace a row with multiple other rows from an other sheet?

Hi all,

I am new to Power Query and I am wondering if it is possible to create some kind of formula/code/way to be able to replace a row with multiple other rows based on a value and use a value of the old row to multiple a value of the new row.

It looks like this:

WE have a product which has subcomponents

Product 1 Subcomponent 1

Subcomponent 1 is present in an other sheet and has 10 row which have several parameters which are all required.

The aim is to have the product splitted in all the subcomponents and have an indicator of the productnumber in front of those rows of the subcomponents and multiple the amount of subcomponents necessary with the material requirements per subcomponent.

Each subcomponent can be sued in several products and each product can have several subcomponents.

I currently have a Macro based solution, but I am wondering if there is a way in Power Query?

It might look like something like this:

So it is in general showing the sub components in the same list as the products with the correct numbers as we only have the sub components per piece and therefor they need to be multiplied.

Hope below table makes it more clear.

Input       
ProductSub componentPartNameMat use per productTotal Fixed Cost per productVariable Cost per productTotal Costs per product 
123 Labour1112 
123456Mat A3153045 
123789Mat B5454590 
456 Mat X1224 
456 Mat Y2134 
456 Mat Z3257 
789 Mat X1448 
789 Mat Y25510 

Output       
Final ProductProductSub componentPartNameMat use per productFixed Cost per productVariable Cost per productTotal Costs per product
123123 Labour1112
123456 Mat X36612
123456 Mat Y63912
123456 Mat Z961521