Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Index column in power query based on date sorting

Hi! 

I need help creating an index column in Power Query.

I would like to index rows with same ID based on the Date in ascending order. 

I would  like it to look something like this: 

IDSub IDDateIndex
ABCABC12020-01-011
ABCABC22020-01-022
ABCABC32020-01-033
ABCABC42020-01-044
DEFDEF12020-01-021
DEFDEF22020-01-054
DEFDEF32020-01-043
DEFDEF42020-01-032

I have tried to do the following steps: 

1 sort Date acending

2 Group by ID (all rows into "Rank")

3 create a index column with: Table.AddIndexColumn([Rank], "Index", 1, 1))

4 Expand to new rows.

The problem is that the first sorting step seems to be ignored. I'm new to this and can't figure out another way to solve it. I'd be so happy and thankful for your help! 

Cheers! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Jimmy801
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hello @Anonymous 

this code should do the trick

let
	Source = #table
	(
		{"ID","Sub ID","Date"},
		{
			{"ABC","ABC1","2020-01-01"},	{"ABC","ABC2","2020-01-02"},	{"ABC","ABC3","2020-01-03"},	{"ABC","ABC4","2020-01-04"},	{"DEF","DEF1","2020-01-02"},	{"DEF","DEF2","2020-01-05"},	
			{"DEF","DEF3","2020-01-04"},	{"DEF","DEF4","2020-01-03"}
		}
	),
	ToDate = Table.TransformColumns
	(
		Source,
		{
			{
				"Date",
				each Date.From(_,"en-US"),
				type date
			}
		}
	),
    Group = Table.Group(ToDate, {"ID"}, {{"AllRows", (tableint) => let sort = Table.Sort(tableint,{"Date", Order.Ascending}), AddIndex = Table.AddIndexColumn(sort,"Index",1) in AddIndex}}),
    Expand = Table.ExpandTableColumn(Group, "AllRows", {"Sub ID", "Date", "Index"}, {"Sub ID", "Date", "Index"})
in
	Expand