Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

HaraldHBub
Frequent Visitor

Importing XML gives all data in single column

Hi,

I'm attempting to import data from an XML file we get exported from one of our systems. I have little experience with XML, so the error might be obvious. Excel opens it just fine and returns the following table, as expected with a bunch more columns (it exports info in Norwegian, sorry about that but not important for my issue)

Skjermbilde.JPG

When i attempt to import the same XML-file into PowerBI I run into trouble with all the information coming in a single column after expanding some columns.

Skjermbilde1.JPGSkjermbilde2.JPG

The XML file looks like this (and keeps going)

<?xml version="1.0"?>

<?mso-application progid="Excel.Sheet"?>

-<Workbook xmlns:html="http(this part is secret)" xmlns:ss="(and this)" xmlns:x="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:excel" xmlns:o="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" xmlns:user="urn:my-scripts" xmlns:msxsl="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:xslt" xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:spreadsheet">

-<Styles>

-<Style ss:ID="s21">

<NumberFormat ss:Format="Fixed"/>

</Style>

</Styles>

-<Worksheet ss:Name="Ark1">

-<Table ss:ExpandedRowCount="1724" ss:ExpandedColumnCount="33">

<Column ss:Width="70" ss:AutoFitWidth="0"/>

<Column ss:Width="180" ss:AutoFitWidth="0"/>

<Column ss:Width="120" ss:AutoFitWidth="0"/>

<Column ss:Width="100" ss:AutoFitWidth="0"/>

<Column ss:Width="60" ss:AutoFitWidth="0"/>

<Column ss:Width="80" ss:AutoFitWidth="0"/>

<Column ss:Width="150" ss:AutoFitWidth="0"/>

<Column ss:Width="150" ss:AutoFitWidth="0"/>

<Column ss:Width="70" ss:AutoFitWidth="0"/>

<Column ss:Width="140" ss:AutoFitWidth="0"/>

<Column ss:Width="90" ss:AutoFitWidth="0"/>

<Column ss:Width="90" ss:AutoFitWidth="0"/>

+<Row>
+<Row>
+<Row>
+<Row>
+<Row>
+<Row>
-<Row>