Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Importing Multiple Web Pages with Different Column Names

Hi Everyone! I'm fairly new to the Power Query world, but have been creating my own stock valuation models during the pandemic and thought Power Query could help enhance that hobby. Sorry if I butcher any of the explations, but hoping someone here may be able to help.

I'm attempting to import income statements, balance sheets, and statement of cash flows from Reuters to my Excel workbook. I first created a function to pull in the Key Metrics tables from the website for all of the stocks on my Excel Watchlist. I created a table with a formula to call out the URL for each specific stock, Imported Data From Table / Range, and created a Custom Column referencing the aforementioned function. Easy enough.

This is where I get lost. I attempted to replicate these steps to pull in the various financial statements for the same companies, but realized that column names wouldn't be identical for each URL due to varying fiscal years and reporting requirements across countries. I put two examples of this below, with ATVI having a standard fiscal year end at December 31st, and Apple having a different fiscal year end at September 30th. Because of these differences, I get an error code each time I create a Custom Column referencing the function I created.

Question is - is there a way to reference a column position within the Query Editor instead of a column name? I'd like to avoid pulling in the queries separately, as my Excel Watchlist has grown to 100+ possibilities since I started this hobby. Appreciate any feedback!

https://www.reuters.com/companies/ATVI.OQ/financials

https://www.reuters.com/companies/AAPL.OQ/financials

Best,

Mark

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Ehren
Employee
Employee