Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Vmcbride1
Regular Visitor

IF statement with 2 columns

I am very new to Power BI, so this may be a lot less difficult than I am making it out to be. I have a query with a Part# column and Description Column, what I am needing is to add a column where if the Partnum column equals a certain part number then i need it to look at the next column Description to decide if it is a part or labor entry, this is what i wrote adding a custom column but can't get it to work? Any help would be greatly appreciated

if [PartNum] = "$$$WIPINVENTORY" then

if Text.Range ([DESCRIPTION],5,1) =" "and Text.Range ([DESCRIPTION],10,1)=" "then "Labor1" else "Parts1"

Capture.JPG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Vmcbride1 

You could add custom columns

Capture7.JPG

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("Vc09DoMwDAXgq0SesVTyR3sWxJDWDhWjQxXl9hiGtB0s5X2R/eYZEgwgnI20j9moZCqwDDM8lVMudIWXBv1ar3AurIUMEZlCKVPX0Y4OrUNnre94Zh/QemdDR+8w+OmGU/yaVhth0anMXVMhlJ1xe+efprNID0SM0yOGe3eW2t+VdU92o8Z/uLcGy3IA", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [cate = _t, des = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"cate", type text}, {"des", type text}}),
    #"Added Conditional Column" = Table.AddColumn(#"Changed Type", "Custom", each if [cate] = "a" then 1 else null),
    #"Added Conditional Column1" = Table.AddColumn(#"Added Conditional Column", "Custom.3", each if Text.Combine({Text.Middle([des], 3, 1), Text.From("*", "en-US")}, "") = " *" then 1 else null),