Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

FabryZ
Frequent Visitor

How to relate two tables without a common key (easy in SQL, but in Power Query?)

Hi all,

I'm new to Power query (so, I apologize for stupid questions...), but I'm trying to compare sql query and power query, and I'm not able to merge these two tables.

table1: id_emp, name, salary
table2: id_cat, category, min_sal, max_sal

NO RELATION keys (intentionally) between tables.

In sql is very easy to solve:

select *
from table1, table2
where salary between min_sal and max_sal;

or, in ANSI,

select *
from table1 inner join table2
on salary between min_sal and max_sal;

How can I do the same thing in power query?!?
Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @FabryZ ,

I downloaded the example file.

I updated the code provided by @Vera_33 and removed "each" from the syntax.

Copy the code below to a blank query to the example file and you know how it works.

Code:

let
Source = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="Table1"]}[Content],
#"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"id_emp", Int64.Type}, {"name", type text}, {"salary", Int64.Type}}),
#"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(#"Changed Type", "Add Table 2", (x)=> Table.SelectRows( Table2, each x[salary]>[min_sal] and x[salary]<[max_sal])),
#"Expanded Add Table 2" = Table.ExpandTableColumn(#"Added Custom", "Add Table 2", {"id_cat", "min_sal", "max_sal"}, {"id_cat", "min_sal", "max_sal"})
in
#"Expanded Add Table 2"

KT_Bsmart2gethe_0-1652313812764.png

Regards

KT

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
KT_Bsmart2gethe
Impactful Individual
Impactful Individual

Hi @FabryZ,

All you need to do is add a custom column from with Table 1 or Table 2 then expand the columns.

in Table 1,

KT_Bsmart2gethe_0-1652178766697.png

Result:

KT_Bsmart2gethe_1-1652178831017.png