Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Humanity
Regular Visitor

How to find a Power BI freelancer to connect Excel calculations to Power BI

Please forgive me for being a complete & total newb to Power BI.

I'm making a PowerApp that must use Excel for calculations because the workbooks have 1000s of formulas in them. PowerApps can't directly read/write into excel tables that have formulas in them. So it looks like learning Power BI is my only option.

Example:

#1 User puts into PowerApp they have 10 Happy Pops.
#2 Excel Table 1 is updated with a total of 10 in the Happy Pops column
#3 Excel Table 2 reads Table 1 and does the caclcuations and generates 3 outputs (Total sugar, total value, number of cases)
#4 _______???________
#5 PowerApps displays calculation results to user in individual text fields

I would like to pay someone to show me how to do this.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@edhans 

PowerApps isn't good for heavy calculation sets, Power BI or SQL is usually used.  The excel trick is just to demonstrate concents of really complex calculation sets, in order to visualize before committing to an end product.

A paid Microsoft certified freelancer told me that there is a way to do what I proposed using, but there would be a limitation on how many updates Power BI can perform in a day, even if you are forcing the updates, unless you get a Power BI Premium license ($5000/month).