Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

beatrizroque
Regular Visitor

How to create a new column with the sum of values of another column based on criteria?

Hi, I am very new to this so I don't know better words to explain what I'm trying to do, but here it goes:

I have a table like this:

EmployeeType of Day OffDay OffWork Hours
JohnHoliday1/1/20210
JohnVacation1/11/20218
JohnVacation1/12/20218
JaneHoliday1/1/20210
JaneVacation2/19/20218

And using power query I would like to get the following output:

EmployeeJanuaryFebruary
John160
Jane08

where in each month column I get the total hours each employee has "booked" as vacation for that month.

I know that probably the internet is full of answers for my problem, but I don't know how to search for this.

Finally, as I said before, I am very very new to this, so if you could show me a step by step, that'd be awesome.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@beatrizroque 

Yes, it is possible, got Power Query in Excel and follow these steps.
Create a blank Query, go to the Advanced Editor, clear the existing code, and paste the codes give below and follow the steps.

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45Wcs0tyMmvTE1V0lEKqSxIVchPU3BJrFTwT0sDiiBY4flF2Qoe+aVFxUqxOtFKXvkZeUBRj/yczJTESiDLUN9Q38jAyBDINEBWEZaYnFiSmZ8HUQJXY4FbjRGamsS8VAI2QVQgmWKkb2iJZEosAA==", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [#"(blank)" = _t, #"(blank).1" = _t, #"(blank).2" = _t, #"(blank).3" = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"(blank)", type text}, {"(blank).1", type text}, {"(blank).2", type text}, {"(blank).3", type text}}),
    #"Promoted Headers" = Table.PromoteHeaders(#"Changed Type", [PromoteAllScalars=true]),