Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

water-guy-5
Helper III
Helper III

How to change column names for a query with 200+ columns

Hello,

I have a table with about 200 columns, and I do not want to have to manually change all of my entries.

About 15 columns are individual, where the column name starts with a unique text string, however the other 185 columns begin with "field_" and then has the column name. For the sake of reporting, I would like some sort of M code that allows me to remove the first 6 characters when 'field_' is present or remove 'field_' or something along those lines. Thanks!

I have very little knowledge when it comes to Power Query... the most I have done is seperate row entries with delimiters, I feel like this is slightly similar but don't know how since it has to do with a column...thanks!!!!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
AlexisOlson
Super User
Super User

Here's an example that you can paste into the Advanced Editor:

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WSlTSUaoAYkMQNgASRnqGJkqxOtFKSUBOJUgAiE1BsnqWFkqxsQA=", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Column1 = _t, Column2 = _t, field_Col3 = _t, field_Col4 = _t, field_Col5 = _t]),
    NewColNames = List.Transform(Table.ColumnNames(Source), each if Text.Start(_, 6) = "field_" then Text.AfterDelimiter(_, "_") else _),
    ChangeColNames = Table.FromColumns(Table.ToColumns(Source), NewColNames)
in
    ChangeColNames

This takes the Table.ColumnNames as a list and transforms is according to the rule you specified. It then splits the table into columns and recombines them back into a table using the new column names.