Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to apply a slicer from one table to another table

Hi there, I am new to Power BI and do need some help on how to link a slicer from TableA to TableB. Basically, the slicer is coming from Type column from TableA.  What I need is when the user select an option as FY1 or FY2, TableB will be filtered by matching their ID.  For example, when FY1 is selected, the TableB will be filtered as

1 10

1 20

2 30

2 10

Join TableA and TableB does not work, as ID are not unique is either A or B.

The goal to get the sum of 10,20,30,10 when FY1 is selected, or 5,5,20,10 when FY2 is selected.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Capture.PNG

19 REPLIES 19
Frederick_Syd

Building a Bi-directional relationship can fix it easily.....

Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

@Anonymous Are the two tables related to one another on ID? If so that should happen automatically.

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
Mastering Power BI 2nd Edition

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for all reply.  They are related by ID, but we cannot join them together, as ID from either table are unique.  The sum of amount on joined table will not be corrected due to the duplication records created by join.

jthomson
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Is there any reason you can't de-dupe table A so that the ID value is unique?

Anonymous
Not applicable

we cannot de-duplication.  The tables only illustrated the concept for this, the actual ones have many other columns.