Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to Setup Xero connection to Power BI

Hi

I am new to Power BI and have been trying to setup our organizations Xero connection to Power BI.  I cant seem to find Xero in the connected apps in Power BI? Anyone have ideas on what I could be missing in the setup? All the documents and videos online appear to be very simple and straight forward but I must be missing an important step cause Xero isnt available in the Services Apps in my Power BI.

Help!

TIA,

Sane

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-piga-msft
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Hi @Anonymous ,

Sorry for the delay.

Update: the Xero app was republished as a Template app, you could find it from here.

By my test, we could get it in app list now.

Capture.PNG

Best  Regards,

Cherry

Community Support Team _ Cherry Gao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
kevinwiegand
Frequent Visitor

Hi Sane,

There are three ways;
1) log into powerbi.com -> Get Data -> Xero App (downside is you can't edit / consolidate / add data / create measures)

2) export CSV's from Xero -> PowerBI Desktop -> Publish to powerbi.com (manual, error prone, not scalable)

3) Programatically update an Azure SQL DB -> Power BI Desktop (Direct query) -> Publish to powerbi.com (automated, scalable, and the start of something beautiful)

We have a connector which helps you achieve step 3). You can read more about here : https://datasights.co/integrations/xero-connector/

Good luck!

v-piga-msft
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Hi @Anonymous ,

Sorry for the delay.

Update: the Xero app was republished as a Template app, you could find it from here.

By my test, we could get it in app list now.

Capture.PNG