Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

blfox4

Help with Formula in Power Query - IF(ISNA(VLOOKUP

Hello all,

I am fairly new to Power Query but determined to learn it. I have a question about translating an Excel function to Power BI. I've already searched around and came across different DAX solutions and it doesn't seem to be working for me, unless I am doing it wrong, which could be the case, lol.

I have several queries but I need to create a new from another query output file where I need to add a column with this formula:

=IF(ISNA(VLOOKUP(E:E,'Table2'!, B:B, 2,FALSE)), "No", "Yes")

Can someone help me on my way? Thanks in advance!

Brooke

7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

image.png

PS

wanting to simulate the vlookup function of excel more completely, one would also have to manage the ? and * wildcard characters.

image.png

image.png

Anonymous
Not applicable

@blfox4 

dax calculated column write below measure:

LookUps=IF(ISBLANK(LOOKUPVALUE(Table2[B],Table2[A],Table1[E], BLANK())),"No","Yes")

Steps in Power Query:

1. Load Table 1

2. Load Table 2

3 Merge these two tables on the basis of column E ( Table 1)  &  Column A of Table 2

4. Now pull the column B from Table 2 by expanding the table.

5. Then write a conditional column: if Table2.B = null then "No" else "Yes".

v-xuding-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @blfox4 ,

Just based on the formula, we can't give you a exact solution. Can you please share some sample data and expected results? Then we will understand clearly about your requirement and solve it quickly.  Thanks!

Best Regards,
Xue Ding
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Jimmy801
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hello @blfox4