Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

StanleyBlack
Helper I
Helper I

Help! Nested Table Solution Creating Over a Billion Tables!

Hi everyone,

I work in education, and I’ve been given a table containing the dates a student has a certain context flag in our system. The flags are usually time-limited so a student could be at the school now that used to have one of these flags, but it has since expired and vice versa. Before now we’ve only been able to pull out the current context, but with the date range table, we can create a table that links to our calendar and student table that will allow us to use these conditions to filter the underlying fact tables in our model such as attendance and behaviour.

I initially tried combing the dates into a date range and pivoting that cell, but it turns out that some kids have multiple date ranges which we weren’t expecting. To solve for that we grouped the rows and then pivoted the date ranges whilst there were in nested tables then subsequently merged them onto a separate table that had the expanded enrolment dates for all students. I then passed through the data from that table into the nested table and tested it to see if it fell between the start and end date of the characteristic. I then evaluate all the rows in the nested table and if any of them are true return true for the table. I repeat that process for each of the context flags.

The Data File and PBIX are uploaded to google which shows all of this working but my problem is that whilst the approach I’ve tried in power query gets me to the output I’m looking for, the query potentially creates over a billion single-row tables which is ridiculous for what I’m trying to achieve and subsequently will not load.