Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

HELP: Matching a value in one column to a value from another column (but different row)

Hi,

I'm relatively new to using Power Query, and I just can't figure out how to do what I can do with DAX in Power Query.

I'm trying to get a new column that returns True if the value in a row of one column matches with any of the rows in another column, and a False if it does not match. 

In DAX I used this function: CONTAINS(Table1,Table1[column1],Table1[column2]) and this worked fine. However, I want to be able to use that column for further transformations or conditions in the Query Editor, so I need to replicate this using Power Query, but I can't find any examples that do this. 

It should look something like this:

So if the values from either the Other_PersonID1 or the values from the Other_PersonID2 match any case in the column Person_ID, then you return "True", if there is no match, then it returns "False".

Person_IDOther_PersonID1Other_PersonID2Match
1 2True
27 True
3 20False
48 True
5 4True
69 True
7 9True
8  False
9  False

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous 

Add custom columns

Capture8.JPG

List.Contains(#"Removed Columns"[Person_ID],[Other_PersonID1]) or List.Contains(#"Removed Columns"[Person_ID],[Other_PersonID2])

Replace #"Removed Columns" with the previous step in your case.

Best Regards
Maggie
Community Support Team _ Maggie Li
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous 

Add custom columns

Capture8.JPG