Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Grouping data with values spread in different columns.

Hi.

I am quite new in Power Query and would like to know how to join/ unite data by Sales Person Code with values that are spread in diferent columns. ( please see photo attached).

So, basically I want to have a column with the sum of Sales made by each  Sales person.

It is a split sales,(there can be like 5 level split) for instance Scot has sold a product 100% himself. Angelo and Bern have it joint.. Angelo contribute with 30% and Bern 20% on the same product. So i want the  new column to be able to calculate the amout of each person based on their contribution.

So, I was thinking of Combining the SALES PERSON CODE column (which as you can see can be 2 or more columns) and then bring the Sales amount.

Can anyone help know how can I combine different columns ?

Thank you in advance.

poer bi question.PNG

2 REPLIES 2
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi Tania,

I changed a little your input table so it was more clear (at least to me) to get your inputs.

Later, I created a query with the following code to consolidate the results by Sales Rep.

let
    Source = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="Table3"]}[Content],
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Sale #", Int64.Type}, {"Sale Amount", Int64.Type}, {"Scott", Int64.Type}, {"Angelo", type number}, {"Bern", type number}}),
    #"Unpivoted Other Columns" = Table.UnpivotOtherColumns(#"Changed Type", {"Sale #", "Sale Amount"}, "Attribute", "Value"),
    #"Renamed Columns" = Table.RenameColumns(#"Unpivoted Other Columns",{{"Value", "% of Sales"}, {"Attribute", "Sales Rep"}}),
    #"Changed Type1" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Renamed Columns",{{"% of Sales", Percentage.Type}}),