Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

voglejm

Grouping Calculation

Hello Everyone!

I'm new to PowerBi and I'm looking for some help. I've been asked to create a calculated field that shows the amount of time that each request was open. The customer desires to see a sum of time that a request was open; however, they are wanting any hold state removed from the sum. So for the example provided below the customer would expect to see that RFS21121 was open for roughly 124 days. 

I'm honestly not even sure where to begin; however, I'm hoping someone can help.PowerBI.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Nathaniel_C
Super User
Super User

Hi @voglejm ,

From DATEDIFF - google- I would use this function twice, and then subtract 1 from the other.

Maybe add these in a few columns so that you can confirm the correctness of each part, and then circle back and make one column out of the others. I always find it easier to debug.  So the first column might be CALCULATE(MAX(Table[Created], FILTER(ALL(Table), Table[Previous Status] = null, Table[Title])) (or maybe use table[Current Status] = something). It just needs to be consistent. That would be your first date, get the second date, and then use the DateDiff. Then do it all over for the second duration.

One other thing...in your picture the type is shown as ABC123 which is Any...that can create problems.  Always change that.

Let me know if you have any questions.

If this solves your issues, please mark it as the solution, so that others can find it easily. Kudos are nice too.
Nathaniel

Syntax

DAXCopy
DATEDIFF(<start_date>, <end_date>, <interval>)  

Parameters

Term Definition
start_dateA scalar datetime value.
end_dateA scalar datetime value Return value.
intervalThe interval to use when comparing dates. The value can be one of the following:

- SECOND