Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Markzolotoy
Impactful Individual
Impactful Individual

Get data from webservice

I am trying to bring data into my dashboard by accessing a websevice endpoint. It works fine in my mobile report wher i am using a dataset based on an xml data source. After proving URL of that data source I get the following screen:

Capture.PNG

After Loading it I dont see any data. 

Any idea?

Thanks

20 REPLIES 20
karekaasamoen
Frequent Visitor

I'm relatively new to PowerBI and powerQuery, and maybe you have had this problem sorted out allready, but it seems like you have drawn data from an url without formatting it as xml data. I guess you have use a formula like:

Source = Web.Contents(https://some.url.here)

Which by default will return a HTML file. Try to wrap the web-connector in an XML formula like this:

Source = Xml.Tables(Web.Contents(https://some.url.here))

And I guess you will be fine

Where exactly do I place that formula?

The best way is to use the advanced query editor. From the analysis-model (main window), click the Edit Queries button

EditQueryButton.png

Then, right-click the actual datasource and select advanced editor

RightClickDatasource.png

I guess the source of your data looks quite similar to this Source = ( Web.Page(Web.Contents(....)

ChangeSource.png

Change this to Xml.Tables(Web.Contents and I guess you will have your data as expected. The advanced editor uses PowerQuery scripting language, is flexible and gives a lot of opportunities, but if you haven't used this you have a certain learning curve. But try it out

No worki.

The code looks like this:

let
Source = Xml.Tables(Web.Contents("woking path to webservice. works everywhere except powe bi")),
Data0 = Source{0}[Data]
in
Data0

error:

Expression.Error: The field 'Data' of the record wasn't found.
Details: