Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Varin
Regular Visitor

Get data from QNAP NAS

Hi, I am quite new to Power BI so I have to thank you in advance for your patience. Please also excuse my ignorance. 

I have a few excel files located in a QNAP NAS. I am trying to connect the data to power BI so I can schedule a daily refresh. I can't use the on-premise data connection as the NAS is in remote location and there is no PC that is always on. 

I tried to create share links but they lead to a download page instead of the file. So I grabbed the download link when I click the file from the address bar which lead to the file and use Get data -> Web Anonymous and everything worked - for a day.

I thought the link was static, turned out it wasn't the case. The domain name changed by one digit causing the whole thing to break down. 

The original like -- https://b21.myqnapcloud.com/share.cgi?&tunnel_agent_id=5c38......

The link the next day -- https://b11.myqnapcloud.com/share.cgi?&tunnel_agent_id=5c38......

I am not sure if the domain is going to change again tomorrow.

I don't know if this is the best way to get data from a QNAP NAS. Is there a better way to connect to the data? Or is there a way to generate a static link to these files?

The NAS is on a schedule power on and off and it gets turned on everyday. The PCs however, are not. I can't let the users open the files everyday and hit refresh as the report contain sensitive data. 

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advace. 

4 REPLIES 4
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Varin 

You could push live qnap nas data to Power BI Service.

Create a Power BI streaming dashboards

In addition, there is a tip "How to Integrate Power BI with QIoT Suite Lite" from ONAP support.