Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Mark598
Regular Visitor

Gateway connectivity issue (gateway only works for 1 dataset)

Hi,

I am in desperate need of some help. I have searched forums, tutorials and spent several and several hours trying to understand what I am doing wrong. I am quite new to PowerBI gateway set up and cannot find what is wrong.

I have created a report in PowerBI desktop that connects to a database with the following string:

Screen1

Everything works fine in PowerBI desktop, I can refresh the data and create needed reports. Now when I publish my report to PowerBI portal and try to set up scheduled updates, then I get stuck.

I have created a gateway to PowerBI portal with all the same data:

Screen2

I have added myself to the users list:

Screen3

And now when I go to the dataset to schedule an automated refresh then I cannot choose this gateway:

Screen4

I have another gateway connection to the same database but using the ANSI driver and this works fine:

Screen5

Screen6

Screen7

I do not know what I did differently that I could choose a data gateway right away with the ANSI connection. If I created the Unicode connection then I could not choose a gateway anymore. What I also tried is to add a new dataset which is using the same ANSI connection and this also does not work anymore. So now I have one dataset and one report that works with automated scheduled refresh but all the others that use the same database and string do not work (data gateway button is not active and I cannot choose it). I would really appreciate to help me identify what I am doing wrong with the new datasets. I am probably missing a simple thing but I don't know how the first one just started to work.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION