Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Find first non-blank value across columns

Hi

To say I am new to PowerBI is an understatement.  Very powerful and cool tool though.

I have to map a value from a mapping table, based on priority. 

A simplified view is shown below.  In my real scenario I have multiple variables that are merged (xxxxx.yyyy.zzz), each with its own wildcard mapping.

There are multiple possible mapping combinations, and I have to find the first value, which will then be looked up from a different table.

AB
CDEFG
1AccountMappingAbsolute MappingWildcard x1Wildcard x2Wildcard x3Wildcard x4

1234512345  12???1????
3546125461? 5461?   
498745987??  987?? 9????

The formula I would use in B2 in Excel is to determine the appropriate mapping is :

"Index(C2:G2,MATCH(TRUE,LEN(C2:G2)>0,0)".  It returns the first value it finds in the range. 

How do I replicate this formula in PowerBI in Excel?

Thank you for the help.

Sakkie6

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
CNENFRNL
Community Champion
Community Champion

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WMjQyNjFV0oHTEGRoZG9vD6LtQXSsTrSSqYmZoRFEEsS0hysFy1pamCPpBvLsoQos4QY4OiYi9EB1xgIA", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Account = _t, #"Absolute Mapping" = _t, #"Wildcard x1" = _t, #"Wildcard x2" = _t, #"Wildcard x3" = _t, #"Wildcard x4" = _t]),

Mapping = Table.AddColumn(Source, "Mapping", each try List.Select(List.Skip(Record.ToList(_)), each Text.Length(Text.Trim(_)) > 0){0} otherwise "")
in
    Mapping

Screenshot 2021-10-08 125208.png