Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

severm
Frequent Visitor

Find dates in text

Dear all,

I kindly request the help of this community. I am a beginner and I am still getting acustom with Language M and DAX.

In the file I have I need to extract the maximum dates from a text column.

The dates can be anywhere within the text and they have different ways they were written:

qbcsde45cd 01.06.2022 - 31.05.2023 csfmeoj3dde
ljfofbl;s 5 dada 01.06.2022 -31.05.2023lepojn dbfuif7 9089n fe
lopjfeif4f 03-04.05.2022 pinsdiubf4frf
pjnwd lasa3asde 17/18/19 kmfiofjnrigb56
casfsfe34fgthtr 28*02*2023 sdgdht676s
plnu67jniu 31.12.24 xniubuy67bkl;
mnjhvt567ybnl 31/12/2022 amsuaisb67890
(ant txt) 30/6/22 (any text)

I was thinking to an algorithm like following, but I do not manage it to writte it:

• Replace all punctation with "/" and make a list from text
  • Loop through the list or generate a secondary list with the dates
    • In set of 8 characters
    • In set of 10 characters

check for each step if the step is a date with date from text

• Get the max date

Thank you in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Use this in a custom column

= List.Max(List.Transform(List.Transform(Text.Split(Text.Replace(Text.Replace(Text.Replace(Text.Replace([Data],".","/"),".","/"),"*","/"),"-"," ")," "),(x)=>Text.Select(x,{"0".."9","/"})),(y)=>if Text.Contains(y,"/") then try Date.From(y) otherwise null else null))

Full code for testing

let