Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

brick
Employee
Employee

Filtering lines from data table based on values in exclude table

Hello,

I'd like some help getting pointed in the right direction. I am new to Power BI but trying to learn and absorb as much as possible by reading books, watching videos, experimenting and asking questions. So, I hope you don't mind a question from a beginner. I am trying to solve a problem and honestly, I am not even sure which direction I should take. I will toss out an idea but I am open to taking a completely different direction from the ground up as I own the data source, report generation, etc.

The basic problem is that I have a data table which has many rows which I cannot modify. The data model is in DirectQuery mode. Some of those rows contain data that interests me at times and does not interest me at other times. So, I'd like a way to filter out the data I do not want and then include it in my reports when I do want it. I am visualizing a seperate table which includes a date stamp, the unique identifier and an is_valid column that tells me whether I want to display the data. If could add rows to this exclude table whenever I change my mind. Then, there would be some methodology that queries this exclude table, if it finds no entries for the unique key, it assumes the data in the data table is valid. If it does find data in this exclude table, it finds the row corresponding to the last date, gets the is_valid value and then determines whether to include that data or not. Here is an example of the exclude table:

exampletabler.png

Let's say the data table has a million rows in it with many of those rows matching the md5 shown above and many not.