Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

[Expression.Error] We cannot convert a value of type List to type Record.

Hi there

I am new to PowerBI and learning as I go. I am using PowerBI to query a REST API, and this is all working correctly. I have created a measure which again works correctly, however I have created a new entry in one of the current fields (in the API backend) that I pull from the API (which incidently was working correctly) which on refreshing the data, selecting the column then 'load more' I get the following:

[Expression.Error] We cannot convert a value of type List to type Record.

The field before had some simple text entries in it and I have added another entry - again text based - nothing complex.

Could some steer me as to the nature of why I am getting this error please so I can understand how to fix it?

Thanks

21 REPLIES 21
edhans
Super User
Super User

That error is coming from Power Query when you are loading data, and somewhere either in your M code or source data, you are getting a list of data and are then trying to handle it like a record, thus the error.

Go into Power Query and look at the query that should now have a yellow triangle next to it and see if you can find the source of the error. We'd need screenshots to really help. If you find a "cell" that has the word "Error" in it, please click on the white area next to the word Error (not on the word Error itself) and give us a usable screenshot of what is appearing in the small window at the bottom of the query in yellow.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!
Did my answers help arrive at a solution? Give it a kudos by clicking the Thumbs Up!

DAX is for Analysis. Power Query is for Data Modeling

Proud to be a Super User!

MCSA: BI Reporting
Anonymous