Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

CoreyB76

Employee Shift Grouping

Here's the problem I am trying to solve with Power Query. As a caveat, I am very new at using this tool but I think that it should be able to help me solve this problem.

We have many employees that work for many different clients and their shift data is recorded in our time and attendance system. We have a policy that these employees are not allowed to work more than 16 hours in one shift. In order to monitor this, we have been pulling a report from the system and filtering out any **bleep** that was over 16 hours.

I just recently found out that this wasn't alerting us to all shifts, specifically shifts that span two days. How our timekeeping system handles this is after the shift is clocked out the original Punch ID is canceled and 2 new Punch IDs are created for the amount of time clocked in on each separate day while referencing the original Punch ID in the Reference Punch ID field. So for this one shift there are now 3 different Punch IDs, two of which have the Reference Punch ID field populated.

Shifts that I would like to show up in the query

1. Any shift that is Approved or Pending and over 16 in the amount column
  2. Any overnight shift that is Canceled over 16 hours as well as the 2 new Approved shifts that were created from the split that is usually under 16 Hours
    1. Ideally, these are grouped together with the Original Punch ID on the top followed by any Punch IDs that have the Original Punch ID in the Reference Punch ID Column

Using Power Query I removed all unnecessary columns to get the dataset to the one below. The Punches that get split Punch IDs are greater than the original Punch ID. 

Punch ID

Reference Punch ID

Date Of Service

Employee

Client

Cost Center

Hours

Status

10/1/2020

Susan Caregiver

Bob Consumer