Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

StreytFeyz
Frequent Visitor

Dynamic Format wrt Data Model Content (Numerics and Units)

Hello everyone,

I am a novice user of Power BI with enough experience with visuals, but very little command of Query M language.

I look for an approach to dynamically update Format of data by using a conditional function, or a reference statement to update Text next to Numerical Values.

As an example, I want to merge the content of two columns/fields in a dataset. Former column contains various numerical values (be it whole or decimal), and the latter column contains the units corresponding to each row of data (grams, metres, km/hr, DegC, etc. in text). So far, the approaches that are available have been only static, which require

1) Clicking Model at left pane and writing down Custom Format in Properties

2) Clicking Data at left pane, selecting a column and then write the custom Format in the 'Column tools' tab (say ##,0 \metres)

However, there could be a more dynamic approach where one can reference a Table[Column1] as Number, and combine it with the Text content at Table[Column2]. I wish to apply this to visual charts, such as y-axis of Line Bars, or in a Matrix. Rather than resorting to Tooltips section or Card visual, can there be a more dynamic way to display text next to an axis/column of values in a Power BI dashboard?

I would appreciate your feedback,

StreytFeyz

4 REPLIES 4
StreytFeyz
Frequent Visitor

Hi Ibendlin,

Pardon me for replying late to provide the data you needed to assist,

I will post the table first, and then a .pbix file in a shareable link to address my issue.

VariableValueUnit
Sound Pressure24dBA
Energy60Wh
Power6W
Sound Level (Fundamental)20dB
Sound Level (3rd Harmonic)8dB
Sound Level (5th Harmonic)5dB
Air Temperature27DegC