Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Dynamic Column Names in a table visual for a measure

Hello Everyone,

I am new to PBI and am having trouble in getting the below done.

Want to dynamically name the measure name from the output of the calculation.

I have table visual with 5 measures, and I want to be able to rename them dynamically. Please See the screenshot below, where I have hardcoded the column names but I want them to be dynamic.

jay5300_0-1595574655110.png

say my DAX reads

YEARNUMBER=YEAR("March 3, 2020 3:45 PM") and the result is 2020 and i want the measure name to be 2020 INSTEAD of YEARNUMBER.

Any help is really appreciated.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Smauro
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @Anonymous, what you're asking is not possible. A measure's (or calculated column's, or column's) name is a constant text, existing in the json which defines everything available in the tabular model.

What you can do though, is create just one measure which will also take into account the selected year, and use a matrix visual, adding 'Year' in columns.

Feel free to connect with me:
LinkedIn

View solution in original post

dax
Community Support
Community Support

Hi  @Anonymous , 

As mentioned above, when you put data in Table visual, the field name will be the table column header name. It can't be changed dynamically, you could submit this in ideas . 

If you want to column show it based on date, you could chage your data structure(power query , unpivoy your data) like below(put name in Row, year in Column, amoun in Value in Matrix, then column name is 2018, 2019, 2020)

name year amout

a 2020 2
a 2019 3
a 2018 5
b 2020 2
b 2019 6
b 2018 3