Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

rwjg

Do we maintain query control on dataset shared with Client.

Good morning,

I have to admit I am not a current Power BI user, although I have extensive SQL and SSRS knowledge.

One of my clients has requested that we provide him with, I quote: 

" I would like to get XX Data. We have an approach of pulling all data to our Power BI Tool, including Service Now data.

We just need hooks into your data to pull it into Service-Now.

Are there integrations hooks into your data?"

Now;  I understand where he is going and what he is asking for, but this is not something we have done before.

What I would like to know; before we move forward;

• What is the proper term for "hooks", is he just talking integration? 
  • When we provide a client access, can this be done through a SQL Query that we control, and can thus update on our side, without client interaction?
    • My thought: if the client has "Read only" access to a shared query, this is no different than providing him access to a report, which would take away quite some concerns.     If this is not controllable, we would grant this client access to all our clients and company data, which, needless to explain, can't happen.
  • To accomplish this; what version/license of PowerBI will we require, if at all necessary.

Thank you in advance,

-Rudy

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@rwjg