Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

KevinMorneault
Helper II
Helper II

Datamart - SQL query Editor

Hi

I am new to Datamart, and i was  wandering if i create a sql query within the datamart, am i able to use this query to create a report or i still need to create within the SQL enviroment.

Basically, i brought in a table, writing a sql query  and would like to use the query to create the report.

12 REPLIES 12
nabullock
Frequent Visitor

Did anyone evere answer this?
I have loaded tables into a datamart, then wrote a SQL query on those tables.  It runs and I can see results, but the query does not show up in the report writer, only the tables do. 

Yeah, same @nabullock .  Maybe it's only like this while it's in preview and they bring the access to the SQL queries into the report layer, otherwise it seems quite pointless - certainly for the way we work in my office.

I ended up using the SQL quries as data sources within the Power BI dataset 

CharleyKirton
Frequent Visitor

@KevinMorneault - did you ever find out the answer?  I came looking for that exact thing.  I don't see the point in writing the SQL to make a new query if you can't access that query result from the PBI report.  🤔

daXtreme
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

"Basically, i brought in a table, writing a sql query  and would like to use the query to create the report."

OK, so what's the problem? If you've brought in a table into PBI Desktop or Online, then what keeps you from using it to create reports?