Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Data importing issue / approach for hyperlinks

Hi All, sorry I am new to all of this and to Power BI so apologies if I am asking very basic questions.

Objective:

• I am trying to create a database which has a list of companies registered in a country with fiels like name of the company, address, ... and accounts information (e.g.: shareholders funds, creditors, debitors, profit, .... - the usual financial info)

Where I have got to:

• The information I need is made available by an official website in two different type of files:
  1.  One massive csv file that include 4.5mil companies (this includes all information except for the financials - each company has an ID)
  2. Zipped folders (so 12 zip files) that include between 178K to 850K html files. Each file represent the financial accounts of each company within the 4.5mil csv file above

- I have uploaded file (1) into Power BI and discovered that it does have a handy column which shows the hyperlinks to retrieve for each row (each company) related to their financial accounts potentially making useless downloading file (2) as well....

Issues:

1. I don't know if / how to use those hyperlinks to import financials. Given the number (c.4.5mil) I suspect there may be a much easier / more efficient way to do so
  2. I have played with the importing of one of those HTML files to see how Power BI reads it. It looks like the HTML includes some table and with some effort I can isolate those tables that have relevant financials. The point though is going one by one will take probably a year... 😁

Thanks

Patrick

Annotation 2020-05-16 172135.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Create an custome column and in the custom column formula use