Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

msommerf
Helper III
Helper III

Custom Function to lookup Date from another table with filter

Good afternoon,

I have the following DAX formula which I have been using to find the date a vehicle was last inspected:

Last Inspection = calculate(max(bi_vw_InspectionCompleted[Inspection Completed]),filter(bi_vw_InspectionCompleted,bi_vw_InspectionCompleted[Inspection Completed]<bi_vw_wr_AssetIncidentReport[Date_Occured]),filter(bi_vw_AssetInventory,bi_vw_AssetInventory[AssetID]=bi_vw_wr_AssetIncidentReport[AssetID]))

My problem is that whilst this works with a small subset of my data, I run into memory resouce issues when more data is loaded and the report is published to the Service. I have little to no experience with Power (M) Query.

Is there a way in which I could create a Custom function to perform this task?

Any assistance is appreciated.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-jingzhang
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @msommerf 

Since all tables have the AssetID field, you could try below code to create a column.

Last Inspection 2 = 
MAXX (
    FILTER (
        bi_vw_InspectionCompleted,
        bi_vw_InspectionCompleted[AssetID] = bi_vw_wr_AssetIncidentReport[AssetID]
            && bi_vw_InspectionCompleted[Inspection Completed] < bi_vw_wr_AssetIncidentReport[Date_Occured]
    ),
    bi_vw_InspectionCompleted[Inspection Completed]
)

If you want to try Power Query, you could add below steps to bi_vw_AssetIncidentReport query. I'm not sure whether this would run into memory resource issues when large data is loaded, you may have a try. I attach the pbix for your reference. 

#"Merged Queries" = Table.NestedJoin(#"Changed Type", {"AssetID"}, bi_vw_InspectionCompleted, {"AssetID"}, "bi_vw_InspectionCompleted", JoinKind.LeftOuter),