Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

crln-blue
Post Patron
Post Patron

Custom Column: End of Month data and current date data

Hello!

I have a report where I need to show the current date's last 12 months data. I'm new to PowerBI and I looked for related situations. I found a very helpful article which solved my problem: https://medium.com/dm-p/generating-rows-by-month-for-date-ranges-in-power-query-9baf62ed8e99

However, the requirement was a bit different from the above link. I need to get the last day of each of the last 12 months from now and I also need to include the current date. So my expected result is:

11/19/2020 <- current date

10/31/2020

09/30/2020

08/31/2020

07/31/2020

06/30/2020

05/31/2020

04/30/2020

03/31/2020

02/29/2020

01/31/2020

12/31/2019

11/30/2019

Below is my current date formula:

crln-blue_0-1605772899857.png

Above formula provides month end date but I also need to insert the current date. How can I do so?

Any help is appreciated. Thank you!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
PhilipTreacy
Super User
Super User

Hi @crln-blue 

You can add today's date to the front of that Month List like this

List.Combine({{DateTime.Date(DateTime.LocalNow())},#"Added Custom"[End of Month]})

This will give you a list as a result. 

The full example query is

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("VcnJCQAgDATAXnwLZuNdS0j/bUhAYX0OY5ZQIEVFJXkObcZiTMZgdEZjVIYy8CEK+wlXfgA=", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Month = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Month", type date}}),
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(#"Changed Type", "End of Month", each Date.EndOfMonth([Month])),