Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Create Table in Excel before using in Power BI or Edit Query in Power BI?

Hello everyone 🙂

I'm new to Power BI.

The data that I wish to work with and display in Power BI is provided by a government source every 3 months in Excel spreadsheet format. I need to use data from several sheets within the Excel file.

The data is organised into aesthetic tables for the viewing public in the Excel file, but it is not the flat-format that Power BI needs (see image below).

Screen Shot 2017-10-25 at 12.13.41 PM.png

I know that I must rearrange the table so that all columns of similar format are merged into one column (hope that makes sense).

Screen Shot 2017-10-25 at 12.15.31 PM.pngImage from here.

Should I arrange the data into flat-format using Excel and the 'Create Table' feature? 

Or should I use Power BI's 'Get Data' function, and then use 'Edit Query' in Power BI? I'd love to be able to re-run the saved Edit Query steps when I grab the next spreadsheet in a few months.

Thanks everyone 🙂 I really appreciate those with incredible skills in Power BI helping new users like me with what I know may be simple questions.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
v-qiuyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @powerbi-learner,

Take the Access to Primary Care as at October 2017 (xlsx, 38 KB) Ethnicity sheet as sample, you can create a table within the Excel by select the valid data and format it as a table, then in Power BI desktop, when you use Excel data source to get data, you can choose this table: 

a1.PNG

Or you can directly get data from orignal Excel file, then choose the Ethnicity sheet, after import data to Power BI then go to Query Editor. Click on the filter for first column to remove invalid data, choose Use first row as headers, then click Apply change to load this table to data model.