Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Mous007
Helper IV
Helper IV

Correct attendance data format to run analysis

Hi all,

I received the file i have uploaded in this link and i was tasked to provide an intuitive PBI solution for attendance visualization with only this file provided.

I am new in Power bi and would like to format the data i have in a way that can be used into Power Bi. The sheet = office totals can be unpivoted easily but i have NO idea how i can deal with the sheet = Home and office work schedule.

If someone can please help me or show me how i can transform the data in a usable format for analysis on Power Bi i would be gratefull. I would rather have all changes made on Power Bi but i assume some changes need to be done in Excel beforehand.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Fowmy
Super User
Super User

@Mous007 

Hi, you can trasnform the sheet as I have done below:
Go to Query Editor and paste the following code in a blank Query and adjust he path of the file.

let
    Source = Excel.Workbook(File.Contents("C:\Users\Fowmy\Downloads\Sample data.xlsx"), null, true),
    #"home and office work schedule_Sheet" = Source{[Item="home and office work schedule",Kind="Sheet"]}[Data],
    #"Promoted Headers" = Table.PromoteHeaders(#"home and office work schedule_Sheet", [PromoteAllScalars=true]),
    #"Promoted Headers1" = Table.PromoteHeaders(#"Promoted Headers", [PromoteAllScalars=true]),
    #"Unpivoted Other Columns" = Table.UnpivotOtherColumns(#"Promoted Headers1", {"Name", "Team"}, "Attribute", "Value"),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Unpivoted Other Columns",{{"Attribute", type date}}),
    #"Inserted Day Name" = Table.AddColumn(#"Changed Type", "Day Name", each Date.DayOfWeekName([Attribute]), type text),