Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

prita
Helper I
Helper I

Convert values of a column to a separate column

Hi,

Note: I am new to Power BI

I have a Power BI report built from a SharePoint list. This is a SharePoint form in which there are multiple fields that contain multi selectable items, but the values are fixed. For example, the following are the options - 

What do you want for dinner?
Pizza
Salad
Noodles

When I extract these values in the query editor I get two options - Expand to new rows/Extract Values

I tried both of these when I chose to extract values, it concatenates the values chosen since my form lets people choose multiple options this isn't desirable as it is creating values for any and all combinations that are chosen. For example, if someone chooses Pizza and Noodles and someone else chooses Noodles and Salad it is creating values like - "Pizza; Noodles" then again "Noodles; Salad".

When I tried Expand to new rows it is creating multiple rows for that same person for all options chose by that person, again this isn't desirable. I don't want to create multiple rows for the same person.

I want to analyze at the end how many people chose each option like the example below - 

NamePizzaSaladNoodles
w  1
x1 1
y 11
z1  

Is there a way I can convert my values(i.e Pizza, Salad, Noodles) to columns? I also have some people who haven't chosen any options. I have replaced the "null" values as "unspecified"

Any help would be appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
7 REPLIES 7
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

Invoking @ImkeF 

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
The Definitive Guide to Power Query (M)