Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

AlanFoley
Frequent Visitor

Convert this code which is a Function into a self looping piece of code for batch

Hi All

Firstly let me say that I am very new to m code and have managed to create a function from examples on the internet - this works great but because it is a function I need to pass it a parameter to  execute - in this case I enter "0" and click Invoke

I would really appreciate some assitance in converting this code from a function into a "self looping" query so it can be executed in batch without the need of any manual intervention

Here is the code:

(optional nextPageKey as text, optional loop as number, optional data as list) =>

let
Source = Json.Document(Web.Contents("https://domain.com/api/v2",
[
RelativePath=if loop = 0
then "entities?entitySelector=type%28APPLICATION%29&from=now-8d&fields=%2BfirstSeenTms"
else "entities?nextPageKey=" & nextPageKey,
Headers=[Authorization="Api-Token xxxxx"]
]
)),
token = try Source[nextPageKey] otherwise null,
currentData = Source[entities],
//appendedData = List.Combine({data, currentData}),
appendedData =
if currentData is null and data is null then {}
else if data is null then List.Combine({{}, currentData})
else if data is null then List.Combine({data, {}})
else List.Combine({data, currentData}),
loopNum = loop + 1,
output =
if token is null
//or loopNum > 100
then appendedData
else @fxAPPLICATION (token, loopNum, appendedData)
in
output

Thank you

Regards

Alan

13 REPLIES 13
PhilipTreacy
Super User
Super User

Hi @AlanFoley 

Sorry, got waylaid by other things.

Download the latest example PBIX