Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

vladimir2095
Regular Visitor

Connection to BigQuery

Hello everyone,

I can connect to the BigQuery database but I can't see my datasets. I'm not experienced with Big Query, so maybe I need to enable something. I just don't know what isn't working here.

There's nothing in PowerBI in the right database:

Does someone know where does the problem come from?

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@vladimir2095,

How do you get the dataset? Is it shared by other user?If so, I would recommend you create a ODBC data source for BigQuery, then use ODBC connector in Power BI Desktop and write SQL statement in the connector to check if you can successfully import data from the shared dataset.

There is a similar blog for your reference.
https://cloud.google.com/blog/big-data/2016/11/how-to-connect-bigquery-to-microsoft-excel-and-other-...

Regards,

Lydia

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@vladimir2095,

Are you able to view tables and select data under the bigquery-public-data project?

Based on your first screenshot, it seems that you don't have any projects under "My Project", please follow the guide in this article to create your own projects and check if the projects appear in Power BI Desktop.

Regards,
Lydia

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Hello Lydia,

I can indeed view the tables and select data under the bigquery-publid-data project, but it doesn't seem to be the same data that I have in Big Query window.

Capture3.JPG

Capture.JPG.