Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

markdevries

Combining data sets in Power BI workspace

It's become clear to me that I cannot combine multiple tables to create a single report within the Power BI Service, that I must use BI Desktop instead, and then upload to BI Service.  So, my question is how do I get that functionality, as well as importing other file type like MS Access, when my team and I are only using Office 365, without locally installed Office products?

I'm very big on Office 365 (I have an E3 subscription), but am now realizing that the Office products available through the service are much less capable than with locally installed software, particularly Power BI.  How can I make up the difference without installing the full Office products locally?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @markdevries,

You can compare the difference between Power BI Desktop and Power BI Service by reviewing this article.

Since you want to combine data from multiple data sources, it is better to use Power BI Desktop to create reports and publish them to Service. Power BI Desktop provides advanced data exploration, shaping, modeling, and report creation comparing with Power BI Service.

Thanks,
Lydia Zhang

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @markdevries,

I am not sure that what you really want to achieve by using Power BI Desktop. Based on your description, you want to connect to different items on Office 365 from Power BI Desktop, right?