Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

glenreyes
Frequent Visitor

Combining Duplicate data into one

Hi,

I am new to the PBI scene and have been searching for a solution to combine two data records into one. I have viewed trasnform, group by , etc... and so far all the steps I followed did not work out or I may be just doing something wrong or the solutions is not even what I am looking for. So the issue i am having is that I have a dashboard that I have created that shows the computer and the users associated/assigned to the computers. Whats happening to the data is that the computer gets duplicated values due to multiple users that are using the same computer. What I would like to see if there is a way to merge both users to display in one row which references the same computer. Hope I explained it right. I have highlighted the issue I am having and hope there is a way to change the view that the users using the same computer can be displayed at the same time but only counting one computer... Thank you for reviewing my post and hope that someone would be able to help me...

Capture2.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@glenreyes,

Please add a blank query in your Power BI Desktop and paste the following code to advanced Editor of the blank query. The Group Rows code performs the combination.

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45Wcg72MjQwMDVQ0lFyBGJnAyPdEEMLXVMTSwtzIN8ltTi7JL8AyPIvKMkMyEmtUDA3MAGrzktJLVeK1YEbYQIUdEI1wsgYrxG+iUWZSak5lBkSnFqUnpmvFBsLAA==", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [ASSET_NUMBER = _t, SERIAL_NUMBER = _t, NETWORK_NAME = _t, ASSET_TYPE = _t, MODE_NAME = _t, ClientName = _t]),