Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ptmuldoon
Helper II
Helper II

Combine Columns for Query

I am still pretty new at learning my way around Power Query and M, and hoping some of you with more experience could help prvoide some tips and ideas.

I am working to pull various accounting data via our office's 3rd party provider API.  In working to do so I can pull the "Forecast", "Budget" and "Actuals", and those are with the datsSetID parameter of 1, 2 and -3, respectively.

And I figured out how to pull these under 3 separate queries. But I would much prefer to have The Forecast, Budget and Actuals as columns all in the same table, possibly all with 1 query.

As an example, the query below is getting October 2020 Actuals; dataSetId -3. I then did some filtering and renamed the "stat" and "amt" columns to "actual stat" and "actual amt"

Now I want to basically add a "budget stat" and "budget amt" and similar for the forecast numbers.  I did experiement with merging and appending the queries but not have figured it out yet. I don't want to really add another X thousand rows, but rather just get the budget and forecast data into additional columns.

The one thing I think could be an issue is that a value could exist for the Actual and not exist for Budget or Forecast. Similar the other way around and exist for Budget and $0 actual.

Again, I'm still new with Power Query and M. But have some experience with VBA and coding in general. Just trying to get my head around it all.

Thanks,
PT

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
edhans
Super User
Super User

Hi @ptmuldoon - I am not clear on your requirements. There could be a terminology issue here.