Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Collapsing rows across versions when reference numbers are shared

I'm a little new to the whole of PowerBI/PowerQuery, but I'm hopeful that this is possible. I'm pulling data from multiple Sharepoint lists built off an online form in order to display the data on a published webpage, so most of it has to be converted into a format that these graphs can work with. 

Background: The form makes it possible to enter the same data multiple times, because the metrics are updated through itterative testing (the first time you evaluate it, you get a score, enter it in, then come back, enter the same reference number and document changes, then score it again). The graphs don't care about this itterative testing, just the pre and post score, so ultimately each reference number gets one line, and the "first" and "last" version should be displayed as pre and post scores in the graph. The archived data that my graphs are based on was entered this way, but now the new data needs to be displayed this way as well.

Code: I created code which shows all entries from Sharepoint, and a separate "list" with index numbers, then narrows the list down to "just reference numbers with multiple entries". I want to use this list to identify reference numbers with multiple entries, combine the first and last entry (min and max version number) onto one line, and delete all the other rows. I would normaly do this with a for loop, but that doesn't seem possible in PowerBI using rows. It would be something like this:
For each x in "DuplicateList"

1. Table.SelectRows(#"", each Text.Contains([#"Reference#"], DuplicateList[#"Reference#"](x)))

2. min(version) columns(y) = max(version) columns(z)

3. Remove all rows with version>1

4. Clear selected rows, repeat